Wee Ka Siong wins MCA party presidency

This article first appeared in The Edge Financial Daily, on November 5, 2018.
-A +A

KUALA LUMPUR: MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong is now the party’s new president, according to news reports.

Wee, who is member of parliament for Ayer Hitam, is the party’s sole representative in Parliament.

Wee emerged victorious in a three-cornered fight against Beruas MCA Youth chief Ngoo Teck Keong and Kluang MCA chief Gan Ping Sieu in MCA’s party elections yesterday.

MalaysiaKini said, however, the contest was seen as a two-horse race, between Wee and Gan, who was backed by former MCA president Tan Sri Dr Chua Soi Lek.

Gan, in a Facebook posting, conceded defeat even though the vote-counting process was not yet completed after Wee achieved an unassailable lead, MalaysiaKini reported.

Results were still being tabulated at press time. However, news reports said Wee’s running mate, Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon, was also almost certain to win the MCA deputy president position after achieving a strong lead over his opponent Datuk Tee Siew Kiong.

Wee’s allies Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker, Datuk Seri Yew Teong Look, Datuk Lim Ban Hong and Datuk Tan Teik Cheng are also expected to win the four vice-president positions, the MalaysiaKini report said.

Bernama reported that on Saturday Nicole Wong Siaw Ting was elected as MCA Youth chief for the 2018-2021 term, making her the first woman to hold the post in the party. Wong gained 136 votes, beating her rival Ng Kiam Nam who got 82 votes.

She was previously MCA Youth vice-chairman. Wong is also aligned with Wee.

Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai didn’t seek re-election as president of MCA following the component party’s poor showing in the 14th general election (GE14) on May 9. Liow lost his seat as Bentong MP to PKR’s Wong Tack.

MCA was almost wiped out in GE14, winning one parliamentary seat and two state seats out of the 129 it contested.