Rantau by-election: Unofficial - BN's Mohamad Hasan takes early lead

-A +A

(April 13): Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan has won the majority of the early and postal votes.

At 6pm, Malaysiakini reported that BN won 113 votes while Pakatan Harapan received a mere 10 votes.

These voters mostly comprised police officers and civil servants.

The Rantau by-election was a four-cornered contest between anaesthetist Dr S Streram of Pakatan Harapan (PH); UMNO acting president and former Negeri Sembilan Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan of Barisan Nasional (BN) and two Independent candidates, namely R Malarvizhi, a housewife, and Mohd Nor Yassin, a former lecturer.

At 6.25pm, the unofficial results still had BN in the lead with 568 votes vs PH's 265. Malarvizhi had one vote while Mohd Nor had two votes.