Violence in Permatang Pauh one of the worst in polls history, says IGP

-A +A

(May 8): Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar today said he is shocked by the behaviour of those involved in fights and acts of violence during the Permatang Pauh by-election, and described it as the work of “barbaric” and “uncivilised” people.

"They (the supporters) were uncivilised (tak bertamadun). Throwing stones at media personnel, fights during campaign, intimidating government officials and destroying government properties. These were uncalled for," said Khalid.

He said many investigation papers were opened on various incidents that occurred during the by-election. More than 100 police reports were lodged on incidents related to the by-election.

Khalid said the fight yesterday was one of the worst in election history.

"We can say that. The attitude and behaviour was shocking as I thought we have moved forward and were becoming a more civilised society.”

A policeman was injured on the forehead when party supporters hurled stones in an incident at SK Permatang Tok Kandu and in another incident at SK Tanah Liat, a party supporter was injured on the cheek when a piece of wood was thrown at her.

On Wednesday, three police vehicles were damaged in an incident involving party supporters at SK Bukit Indera Muda, reported The Star Online.

Penang police chief Datuk Abdul Rahim Hanafi said the incident occurred when a bomb disposal unit of the Royal Malaysian Police and a police team were carrying out inspection at the school.

Khalid said the “flushing” conducted by police in the area was a routine exercise they conducted during elections.

"This is not a new thing. This was our routine. We did it to ensure the safety and security of the people to avoid any untoward incident," said Khalid.

There were also media reports that two other polling centres were disturbed by the same group but police managed to control the situation.

PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail won the by-election with 30,316 votes, a majority of 8,841 ahead of Barisan Nasional newcomer Suhaimi Sabudin, who got 21,475 votes. – The Malaysian Insider