Seven locations for KL-Singapore HSR stations

-A +A

TOKYO: The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has identified seven locations where stations for the estimated RM40 billion Kuala Lumpur-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) will be sited.

They are Putrajaya, Kuala Lumpur, Seremban, Ayer Keroh (Melaka), and Muar, Batu Pahat and Nusajaya in Johor.

“The government has made a decision on this project and it will involve both sides [including Singapore]. All the various states have also been consulted on this and they’ve given their respective approvals,” SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Syed Jaabar Albar told reporters on the sidelines of the International High-speed Rail Association (IHRA) Conference here yesterday.

He said the feasibility study for the Malaysian side of the proposed HSR project has been submitted to the Malaysian government, who has approved it.

“We’ve established a joint ministerial committee and a technical committee. We have also shared our feasibility study with Singapore,” Syed Hamid said.

He said Singapore is currently conducting its own feasibility study on the project and has yet to disclose the location for the HSR’s final stop in the republic. “We’re currently looking at which systems to adopt, including HSR systems from China, Europe, Spanish, France, Germany, South Korea and Japan.”

Syed Hamid noted that Japan is one of the leading contenders for the project. It was reported that Japan’s Sumitomo Corp was keen to participate in the construction of the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore HSR.

It is likely that foreign companies will form partnerships with local firms to bid for the project.


This article first appeared in The Edge Financial Daily, on October 23, 2014.