PD polls – 54% voter turnout at 4pm, says EC

-A +A

PORT DICKSON (Oct 13): Voter turnout for the Port Dickson by-election was at 54% out of 75,770 registered voters as at 4pm, the Election Commission said. 

Voting ended at 5.30pm and the first seven ballot boxes arrived at the counting centre around 6pm. The official result is expected to be announced at 10 tonight. 

Independent candidate Lau Sek Yan was the first of the seven contestants to arrive at the counting centre along with her husband. 

In the 14th general election, the Port Dickson parliamentary seat was won by PKR’s Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah with a majority 17,710 against Barisan Nasional's Datuk VS Mogan and Mahfuz Roslan of PAS. 

The by-election was called after Danyal vacated the seat on Sept 12 to make way for PKR president –elect Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to return to parliament.