GRS joins, unity Govt achieves two-thirds of Parliament, says Anwar

GRS joins, unity Govt achieves two-thirds of Parliament, says Anwar
-A +A

PUTRAJAYA (Nov 25): Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on Friday (Nov 25) said the unity Government under his leadership has achieved two-thirds majority of the Dewan Rakyat with the latest participation by Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS).

Speaking at a media conference on his first day after taking over the Prime Minister’s Office at Perdana Putra here on Friday, Anwar said the matter was conveyed to him by Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor, who is also the GRS coalition chairman.

“This will further enhance the country’s political stability and enable focus on works to raise the dignity of the country, boosting the economy to defend the people’s interest,” he said.

The total number of seats needed to obtain a two-thirds majority in the Dewan Rakyat is 148 seats.

Cabinet size, members' salaries to be reduced

On the formation of the Cabinet, Anwar said its size would be reduced, and he is also seeking the agreement of members who would be appointed to reduce their salaries.

According to him, the formation of the Cabinet is still in discussion and would be announced as soon as possible.

Anwar said he would refer to the parties involved in the formation of the Cabinet. 

“The respective parties would propose the names for my consideration,” he said when asked on the breakdown of Cabinet members according to parties.

At his first media conference as the PM on Thursday night, Anwar stressed that the unity Government would be formed with the participation of several parties to ensure stability in the country and the economy, as well as to uphold the spirit of the Federal Constitution.

He said the three largest components forming the unity Government are Pakatan Harapan, Barisan Nasional and Gabungan Parti Sarawak.

Anwar reportedly said earlier that the size of the Cabinet would be reduced to a maximum of 25 ministers, compared with 31 ministers under the administration of Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.