Covid-19: Nine new clusters detected with five involving workplace

Covid-19: Nine new clusters detected with five involving workplace
-A +A

KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 3): The Ministry of Health detected nine more new clusters today with five being workplace clusters, bringing the total number of clusters nationwide to 532 with active ones monitored at 232.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said the workplace clusters were detected via targeted screenings at workplaces while other clusters were detected by screening symptomatic individuals.

The workplace clusters were the Perdana Avenue Construction Site cluster in Petaling, Selangor; the Osmo Jaya cluster in Hulu Langat, Selangor; the Belati cluster in Johor Bahru, Kota Tinggi, Kulai, and Pontian; the Wawasan Gading cluster in Batu Pahat, Johor; and the Rengit Central cluster in Kota Tinggi, Kluang, and Johor Bahru.

"Cases in the Perdana Avenue Construction Site cluster reported positive Covid-19 [cases] starting [from] Dec 30, 2020 as a result of targeted screenings on workers at a construction site and as of Jan 3, 2021, 783 individuals were screened with 202 cases detected positive," he said.

He said this in a statement on the development of Covid-19.

He said the Osmo Jaya cluster recorded 46 positive cases of Covid-19, the Belati cluster (44); the Wawasan Gading cluster (13), and the Rengit Central cluster (10).

The other four new clusters were the Lintas Seraya cluster in Kota Kinabalu and Penampang, Sabah, which recorded 16 positive Covid-19 cases; the Manik cluster in Kuala Krai, Kelantan and Dungun, Terengganu (22); the Paloh Tumpat cluster in Kelantan (15); and the Stutong cluster in Kuching, Sarawak (five).

Meanwhile, Dr Noor Hisham said 59 clusters reported increases in cases today with the clusters with the highest number being the Kebun Baru cluster (89 cases), the Beringin cluster (82), the Jalan Harapan Prison cluster (56), and the Sungai Putus cluster (56).

The number of clusters that have ended was 300, including six clusters that ended today, namely the Sungai Cincin cluster, the Tempasuk cluster, the Jalan Tuaran cluster, the Gangsa cluster, the Plaza cluster, and the Teluk cluster.

Read also:

Covid 19: Malaysia reports 1,704 new cases, 11 deaths