Conference of Rulers to elect new King tomorrow

-A +A

KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 23): The nine Malay Rulers are scheduled to meet tomorrow to elect the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Timbalan (Deputy) Yang di-Pertuan Agong to reign for five years.

The election will take place during the Special Meeting of the Conference of Rulers scheduled to begin at 10.30am at Istana Negara.

The 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V, who is the Sultan of Kelantan, stepped down as the King on Jan 6. The Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Nazrin Shah, who is the Sultan of Perak, is discharging the duties of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong pending the election.

In accordance with Section 2 of the Third Schedule of the Federal Constitution, the Conference of Rulers shall offer the office of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to the Ruler qualified for election whose State is first on the election list.

The first rotational list of the appointment of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was made with the consent of the Rulers according to seniority in terms of the period of their reign in the following order: Negeri Sembilan, Selangor, Perlis, Terengganu, Kedah, Kelantan, Pahang, Johor and Perak.