APFT director Jeya Kumar quits three weeks after appointment

-A +A

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 15): Less than a month after his appointment as executive director of APFT Bhd, Jeya Kumar Jegathison has resigned from the post, citing “personal reasons”.

In a stock exchange filing today, the group said the change took effect yesterday. It did not provide any other details.

Jeya Kumar was appointed to APFT’s board on Jan 23, 2019, along with two other independent and non-executive directors, namely Chan Tiam Hin and Datuk Md Ismail Hamdan.

Both Chan and Jeya Kumar's appointments were proposed by APFT’s shareholders via a Jan 11 requisition to the board to hold a fresh extraordinary general meeting (EGM). 

The shareholders had also called for the removal of five existing directors, namely recently-appointed Tengku Shamsulbhari Tengku Azman Shah and Datuk Tan Choon Hwa, as well as Edwin Silvester Das, Tan Sri Zaini Omar and Saiful Azhar Mohd Yusoff.

Subsequently, APFT announced that Edwin, Zaini and Saiful had been removed at the company’s EGM on Jan 18. Edwin was executive director of the group at the time.

In stock exchange filings on Jan 18 as well, APFT said Lee Eng Soon, Michael Heng Chun Hong, Laxmi Devi Murugan and Logonathan Vadivelu were appointed as independent and non-executive directors.

Shares of APFT closed unchanged at 2 sen today, leaving the group with a market capitalisation of RM26.85 million.