29 localities in five states under EMCO from July 27, says DPM Ismail Sabri

(Photo by Zahid Izzani/The Edge filepix)

(Photo by Zahid Izzani/The Edge filepix)

-A +A

KUALA LUMPUR (July 25): A total of 29 localities in Kelantan, Perak, Terengganu, Kedah and Sabah will be subjected to the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) from July 27 to Aug 9.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the decision was made after the special National Security Council (MKN) meeting examined the Health Ministry's presentation, and took into account the risk assessment and trend of Covid-19 infections in all the localities.

He said the 14 localities involved in Kelantan were in the Pasir Puteh district, namely Pekan Selising, Kampung Selising, Kampung Tok Dir, Kampung Pak Omar, Kampung Bukit Bidang, Kampung Bukit Merbau, Kampung Berangan, Kampung Banggol Pak Esah, Kampung Alor Geliong, Kampung Banggol Jenereh, Kampung Kubang Sawa, Kampung Lubuk Kedondong, Kampung Chat and Kampung Banggol Dollah. 

Meanwhile, the EMCO in Perak involves four villages in the Larut Matang dan Selama distric, namely Kampung Sungai Seputeh, Kampung Teluk Mas, Kampung Garok and Kampung Tapah; in Terengganu (Kampung Teluk Menara, Mukim Manir, Kuala Terengganu); and Kedah (Kampung Bukit Malut, Pulau Langkawi).

Ismail Sabri said the EMCO in Sabah involved Kampung Mananam, Tongod; Taman Semarak Megah, Tawau; Kampung Sangkabok, Menumbok; Ladang Belian, Kalabakan; Kampung Batandok and Kampung Menanjung in Beaufort; Kampung Pelakat and Kampung Pelakat Paya in Sipitang, as well as Kampung Sumaang in Ranau. 

Meanwhile, Ismail Sabri, who is also the Defence Minister, said the EMCO in Kampung Gong Jering, Pasir Puteh, Kelantan, which was supposed to end tomorrow, would be extended until Aug 9.

He said EMCO in Sabah involving Kampung Nahaba, Tegudon, Kota Belud; three localities in Kota Kinabalu, namely Jalan Pasir Likas, Taman Kuala Menggatal and the Tangki Air Biru Quarters, Telipok; Borneo Timber, Tongod; Kampung Tebongon, Putatan and two localities in Beaufort, namely Kampung Jempangah and Kampung Rancangan Klias, will end tomorrow as scheduled.

The EMCO at Damai Apartment, PJS 8, Damansara, Petaling, Selangor, was ended today, he said, adding that it is earlier than scheduled.

Meanwhile, Ismail Sabri said another 49 premises comprising factories, businesses and construction sites were ordered to close yesterday for failing to comply with the Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) set by the government to curb the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic.

"Yesterday, 482 individuals were arrested for violating the SOP, and out of the total, 457 individuals were compounded, while 11 others were remanded and 14 were bailed," he said in a statement regarding updates on the National Recovery Plan (PPN) today.

Under Op Benteng, he said eight illegal immigrants were detained and two land vehicles seized.